Location Sharing in onX Hunt lets you see the live location of up to nine friends directly on your map, functioning as a group buddy tracker. Everyone in a shared session can see one another when they have cell service, as long as each person is logged into a separate account. Find Location Sharing in the Go & Track menu. You can record a Track or use Navigation at the same time.
Before you start
- You must have cell service.
- The Hunt App must have access to your precise location.
- One account can only join from one device at a time.
- Each session supports up to 10 total members, including the session owner.
- This feature isn't available in-dash via Android Auto or Apple CarPlay.
Starting and ending a group session
- Open the onX Hunt App and tap Go & Track.
- Tap Share Location
next to Record Track.
- Share the invite link via text or have your group scan the QR code to join.
Once an invitee accepts the invite, they'll appear on your map and in the list of group members.
Tap on a group member from the location sharing menu to zoom to their location on your map.
By default, your location updates every five seconds. With Battery Saver Mode on, it updates about every 30 seconds to conserve power.
If your device misses several consecutive location updates due to a lack of connectivity, you'll show as offline to other members until you regain connectivity.
To end a session, open the Go & Track menu, tap the Location Sharing icon , and select End.
Battery Saver Mode
Battery Saver reduces how often your location updates—from about every 5 seconds to about every 30 seconds—to help your battery last through the day. The first time you start or join a session, you'll be asked whether to turn Battery Saver on.
To turn Battery Saver on or off, open your group members list and use the Battery Saver toggle on your own row. This only changes how often your location updates for your group.
Joining or leaving a group session
- Tap the share link to open the onX Hunt App.
- Enter your name if prompted.
- Accept the invitation to begin sharing your location.
- Once joined, you'll see all active members on the map.
To leave a session, open the Go & Track menu, tap the Location Sharing icon , and select Stop sharing my location.